William Matheson (nova_one) wrote,
William Matheson
nova_one

Facebook: Viral App Alert ("Error Viewing Profile")

This is an important message for all Facebook users.

People are getting notifications saying that people have experienced errors when viewing their profile. Clicking on the notification takes you to a page where you're to authorize an application in order to continue.

It failed the sniff test for me, and I quickly found that it's a bogus Facebook application that those folks had inadvertently installed. Perhaps they clicked on the "Activate" button, or perhaps they didn't - I don't remember clicking, and upon subsequent investigation (in the course of writing instructions for another friend on how to remove the "app"), I found that I had it myself!

News link:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/scienceandtechnology/technology/facebook/4787736/Facebook-users-targeted-by-bogus-application.html

Removing this app (it's easy):

Just go to "Settings," (top right, near the search box) select "Application Settings," and hit the X next to "Error Viewing Profile" or whatever it's called (I already deleted it ^_^). Since it's a new "app," it should be in the default view, which is "Recently Used."

Aside: I can hear Jaymee cackling from here. This will only reinforce the holdouts' reluctance. =)
Tags: alerts, applications, facebook, facebook apps, identity theft, scams, viral applications
Subscribe

  • Boeing and Airbus Model Number Madness

    I'm interested in airlines and airliners, but I find it so hard to keep track of what's what. Automobiles are sometimes easier: Mercedes' main line…

  • Review: Rogue One and the Movies

    Last night I went to see Rogue One: A Star Wars Story with some good friends from high school. Before I get excessively vituperous, let me say that…

  • NFL Week 17 Guide

    Time (ET) Canadian-accessible Carrier Away (Record) Home (Record) At Stake 1 pm none Jaguars 5-10 Texans 8-7…

  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 0 comments